Confessions of a Hoarder: Fashion Magazine Edition

A snapshot of some of the fashion magazines I own.

A snapshot of some of the fashion magazines I own.

The last time I bought magazines, I said to myself, “This will be the last time I buy magazines for awhile.” Obviously, I lied to myself, because I just bought more magazines. I went to CityNewsstand  with the intention of only buying one magazine. The magazine I wanted was this years May edition of Vogue Italia with cover model Kayla Scott, and shot by the iconic Steven Meisel. I went into CityNewsstand like a child at Disney World. My eyes lit up. It was like I had died an gone into fashion publication heaven.

I quickly picked up the Vogue Italia I wanted and was going to head to the checkout counter until another magazine caught my eye. I looked at the other magazine I wanted, which was Magazine Antidote, and told myself I didn’t need it. I didn’t need it, but I wanted it, so I decided to get that too. Before I knew it I was heading to the check out counter with three very large and very heavy fashion magazines. After buying them, I reminded myself how much space these magazines take up and how costly they are (especially if they are international).

Once I got home I looked around my room to see if I had any space left on my bookshelf for the magazines once I finished reading and looking at them. I do have a bit of space left, but it won’t be soon before long that I’ll need another book shelf for all these magazines. I am literally one of those people who you’d see on Hoarders hoarding an item that is over 20 years old that has tons of cat hair on it. Actually that was an exaggeration, I’m not that bad. Although, I must admit I am beginning to have quite the collection of magazines. I have to ask myself, why? Why do I feel the need to collect them? Why do I want a magazine? I mean, you can look at the images and read the articles online for free.

More magazines that I own.

More magazines that I own.

While thinking about these questions it struck me that purchasing fashion magazines (for me at least) enables me to leave my world and enter another one. A world where everyone and everything is glamorous and beautiful. The way the clothes are styled don’t seem to follow any “fashion rules,” but show the stylists ultimate ability to create desire by using visuals. Looking at a magazine on a computer screen is nice, but it doesn’t compare to actually holding the magazine in your hands, and being able to flip through its glossy pages. Another thing is that fashion magazines can be looked at as mini time capsules. It documents the who, what, why, when, and where of the times. You can look back at an old Vogue or The Face and be taken back to that moment when you bought the magazine, all your old memories come back, and you’re in sublime nostalgia. And really, who doesn’t love nostalgia?

So, when put into perspective, I have to admit that I am a hoarder. But I am not the average hoarder just collecting things, because I don’t want to throw them away. No, I like to think of my hoarding as less extreme, and more meaningful. I’m collecting magazines to have an archive of images and texts to look back on and cherish. I’m collecting them to have a few moments out of my day to look at them and be taken into a much more lavish and stylish world. If this means I’m a hoarder then so be it.

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Hoarder: Fashion Magazine Edition

    1. refusingfashion Post author

      Hi Gianna,
      The magazines I usually get the most inspired by are i-D and Pop. They constantly try to push the boundaries of fashion and to be as creative as possible with their styling. Also, thanks for reading. I appreciate it.

      Reply
  1. probe97

    Oh I love being a fashion magazine hoarder, love feeling their glossy sweet scented soft gorgeous pages and looking at all those gorgeous fashion and beauty spreads makes me crave for more and more additions as I slip into magazine heaven.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

